Kategrad7

How Careful Do I Have To Be?

Rate this topic

Hi!

I was just diagnosed last week, have gone through the cabinets and handed over all of the gluten containing groceries to my housemates and now am wondering, just how careful do I have to be? I am a graduate student living in the middle of nowhere in up-state New York and as a graduate student I am relatively poor. I have read some sites that indicate that I should buy my own cooking supplies (pans, cooking spoons, colanders) but I really don't want to go that extra step unless its really necessary. I have very few intestinal symptoms, most of mine being that I get tired or disorientated, so knowing when something is effecting me is going to be a bit of an issue. How hurtful can environmental gluten be? If I don't have blatant symptoms does that mean that I don't have to be as super careful as some sites are suggesting?

I am wondering this same thing. My issues are mostly ones that seem unrelated. FMS, CFS, Hypoglycemia, exhaustion, weakness.

I am trying to figure out how to keep gluten free in a shared household myself. I will be cooking some gluten items for DH but mostly his things are just snacks or sandwiches, etc.

I am trying to figure out how to keep gluten free in a shared household myself. I will be cooking some gluten items for DH but mostly his things are just snacks or sandwiches, etc.

Sounds like the same situation here as far as cooking goes. I just don't know how careful I have to be because I am still having health issues.

I am intolerant to so many foods that I don't know if I am reacting to something else or still gluten. I've eliminated all the foods I tested intolerant to and some days feel better and other days I don't. I get an extremely sore back, insomnia and depression.

I was extremely anxious before giving up gluten so made one step in the right direction. Also had diarrhea almost every day. The anxiety is much better and most days the diarrhea is.