Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

munchkinette

Whole Foods - Salad Bar And Prepared Food Area

Recommended Posts

What kind of experiences have people had with the labeling in the Whole Foods salad/prepared area. I've had a few clearly labeled things from the deli before with no problem.

Today I noticed something- I got all my salad at the bar, and went for the dressing. I wanted the balsamic vinaigrette. It was labeled "contains soy" but the label said it contained "shoyu soy sauce." Isn't that regular soy sauce? There was no "contains wheat" but I stayed away from that! I've had stuff from the deli that just has tamari and "contains soy" with no problem. (I am only mostly soy free.)

Has anyone had trouble with what they think is mislabeled stuff at Whole Foods? As opposed to cross-contamination?


Gluten free since Feb 2006, Dairy and Soy free since 2009

Anemic off and on since 2003

Negative tTG Ab, IgA, Gliadin Ab IgA, wheat allergy (IgE) blood tests (Feb 2006)

Positive wheat allergy skin test(Apr 2006)and dietary response (Feb 2006)

Celiac grandmother (Dx in 1940s, "grew out of it")

Training for my first triathlon to support the Crohn's and Colitis Foundation of America.

~Amy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


What kind of experiences have people had with the labeling in the Whole Foods salad/prepared area. I've had a few clearly labeled things from the deli before with no problem.

Today I noticed something- I got all my salad at the bar, and went for the dressing. I wanted the balsamic vinaigrette. It was labeled "contains soy" but the label said it contained "shoyu soy sauce." Isn't that regular soy sauce? There was no "contains wheat" but I stayed away from that! I've had stuff from the deli that just has tamari and "contains soy" with no problem. (I am only mostly soy free.)

Has anyone had trouble with what they think is mislabeled stuff at Whole Foods? As opposed to cross-contamination?

Check this article out: Soy Sauce

Also click on the Shoyu link in the upper right corner of the page and read about that. Sounds like it's another case of the seller being technically correct about the product but I would not eat any soy sauce that wasn't labeled gluten free. This article seems to liken it to distilled alcohol....while technically it is gluten free, there are those who become ill from distilled alcohol. Whether it's the grains from the process or something else, people are known to become sick from them.

I eat a lot of food from Whole Foods and have never come across mislabeled items. That doesn't mean it doesn't happen though. The Whole Foods that I shop at do a fantastic job with allergens but many of the people who work there have food allergies and intolerances themselves. That makes for higher awareness for me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If wheat was present it would, by federal law, have to be explicitly stated (just like soy). The contains statement lists only soy, so there is no wheat in the product. Not all soy sauce has wheat.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

.......This article seems to liken it to distilled alcohol....while technically it is gluten free, there are those who become ill from distilled alcohol. Whether it's the grains from the process or something else, people are known to become sick from them.......

With all due respect, I feel it's important to note that people are also known to not become sick from distilled grain alcohol. I wish there were data to indicate what percentage of Celiacs are sensitive to distilled grain alcohol. I suspect it's very low.

best regards, lm


gluten-free 12-18-06

colonoscopy, upper GI
blood, urine, stool tests, prometheus panel
positive endoscopy/positive duodenal biopsies (severe villous atrophy, high intraepithelial lympocytes)
diagnosed celiac disease by Gastroenterologist Andrew R. Gottesman, 12-18-06

"Sobriety sucks. That's why they invented booze in the first place." Denis Leary - Rescue Me

Beware the chocolate of Chiapa

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

With all due respect, I feel it's important to note that people are also known to not become sick from distilled grain alcohol. I wish there were data to indicate what percentage of Celiacs are sensitive to distilled grain alcohol. I suspect it's very low.

best regards, lm

Is that from Celiac though? I don't drink any grain alcohol, but I've got some degree of allergy to wheat. I get really stuffy if I drink grain alcohol, but that happens a lot less or not at all with other hard alcohols like real tequila.


Gluten free since Feb 2006, Dairy and Soy free since 2009

Anemic off and on since 2003

Negative tTG Ab, IgA, Gliadin Ab IgA, wheat allergy (IgE) blood tests (Feb 2006)

Positive wheat allergy skin test(Apr 2006)and dietary response (Feb 2006)

Celiac grandmother (Dx in 1940s, "grew out of it")

Training for my first triathlon to support the Crohn's and Colitis Foundation of America.

~Amy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

With all due respect, I feel it's important to note that people are also known to not become sick from distilled grain alcohol. I wish there were data to indicate what percentage of Celiacs are sensitive to distilled grain alcohol. I suspect it's very low.

best regards, lm

The reason I put that in is because if I didn't, someone would have piped in how dangerous it is for Celiacs to consume grain alcohol. I agree with you....I think it is safe to drink as far as Celiac Disease is concerned but I am also not negating the fact that some people have some kind of reaction to it. Since alcohol can be irritating to the GI tract, I would suspect that could be the reason for a reaction but I am not a researcher so don't really know. When the vast majority of Celiacs do fine with a considered "safe" product, I would have to agree that the product is just that...safe. All reactions are not gluten reactions.

I do not consume grain alcohol but for a different reason...I have no taste for it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites