Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Are there any sodas that have gluten in them that you know of?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've never found one.

Most drinks are safe with the exception of health food drinks that have wheat grass in them.

Funny thing is the first time I went gluten free shopping I was in the health food store and every drink I picked up had wheat grass in it!

Went off to good ole 7 Eleven and got a diet soda...gluten free.

I think all soda's are ok. But do read labels since you never know.

Ah! maybe root beer is processed with a grain. I can't recall, but something I read about root beer makes me think it might be risky.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In over ten years on the diet, I have never found a soda that had gluten in it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I didn't think they did, but I wanted to make sure. Thank you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A&W root beer in Canada may contain gluten...

"In response to your query:

There are some natural flavouring ingredients in A&W Root Beer, it "may" contain gluten, depending on where and when the ingredients were sourced. We cannot be 100% sure that A&W Root Beer does not contain gluten without analyzing specific batches. That said, though, we have never received a complaint or a concern from a customer indicating that they had experienced a celiac problem after drinking our root beer. For people who are sensitive in these situations, though, the rule is always to avoid something you're not totally sure about.

Kind Regards,

Laura Erangey

Administrative Assistant, Food Purchasing

A&W Food Services of Canada Inc.

300 - 171 West Esplanade

North Vancouver, BC V7M 3K9

Phone: 604-988-2141

Direct: 604-983-7220 ext 3273

Fax: 604-988-1187"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That is a pretty standard response from a mainstream company. I've highlighted the legal CYA statement buried in the response. I wouldn't worry about it.

A&W root beer in Canada may contain gluten...

"In response to your query:

There are some natural flavouring ingredients in A&W Root Beer, it "may" contain gluten, depending on where and when the ingredients were sourced. We cannot be 100% sure that A&W Root Beer does not contain gluten without analyzing specific batches. That said, though, we have never received a complaint or a concern from a customer indicating that they had experienced a celiac problem after drinking our root beer. For people who are sensitive in these situations, though, the rule is always to avoid something you're not totally sure about.

Kind Regards,

Laura Erangey

Administrative Assistant, Food Purchasing

A&W Food Services of Canada Inc.

300 - 171 West Esplanade

North Vancouver, BC V7M 3K9

Phone: 604-988-2141

Direct: 604-983-7220 ext 3273

Fax: 604-988-1187"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That is a pretty standard response from a mainstream company. I've highlighted the legal CYA statement buried in the response. I wouldn't worry about it.

OK, thanks, Peter! I've been avoiding it but maybe I don't have to after all.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×