katiekay

Why Is Testing Important?

Rate this topic

I'm new to celiacs stuff... curious if a person knows gluten is hard on the system why is testing important? Is it insurance? Just trying to figure out since I may get negative result due to going gluten-free for about a week for other reasons... I have been back on wheat for 4 days now... I am intense pain. I think it is the gluten (could be coincidental). If it comes back negative I kinda want to go gluten-free anyway but wondering if there is a reason to keep eating gluten to try and get a positive test result??

I'm new to celiacs stuff... curious if a person knows gluten is hard on the system why is testing important? Is it insurance? Just trying to figure out since I may get negative result due to going gluten-free for about a week for other reasons... I have been back on wheat for 4 days now... I am intense pain. I think it is the gluten (could be coincidental). If it comes back negative I kinda want to go gluten-free anyway but wondering if there is a reason to keep eating gluten to try and get a positive test result??

Please get a Celiac Serologic Panel (blood test) asap. Going gluten free for a week should not interfere with your results. It obvious that you have an issues.

If you have intense pain, you need to see a doctor and be tested. You want to rule out more serious concerns.

Please do so and check back with us. :)

confused... for supper tonight I was at someone else's house and had mashed potatoes and carrots... no gluten. I have had gluten during every other meal... why would I have a reaction tonight??? is it just a delayed reaction from lunch and breakfast and the last few days????

Yes, it can be a delayed reaction. It can also be that there is damage from the gluten and your pain and digestive problems can continue until you are gluten free for a period of time long enough to heal.