This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Grandparents Don't Understand

Bottom-Line

Bottom-Line Newbie

I'm sure many others of you have this problem. I have a 11 month old who seemed to have problems after we introduced her to wheat at 7 months so she has been gluten free all but a few days of her life. She also has been switched to soy formula. I've been gluten free for the past 3 and a half years. I'm a college student and work and my husband works also. My husband's parents watch her during the day. She's started recently not wanting the baby food so she's been been getting regular table food I prepare for her the night before. We thought she was only getting this but Grandpa said the other day, "Boy, She sure likes that turkey gravy" He tired to tell us it didn't have any gluten in it but it was a package mix. I'm doubt it didn't. I don't think they take it serious. She acted like she didn't feel good last week for several days and we're guessing it was from the gravy. Grandpa got mad and all when we told him she couldn't eat it. Its not anything new, they've known since she was born we were waiting to give her gluten in hopes that she wouldn't have problems with it. Now i'm wondering if other times she's been really fussy it wasn't because they fed her something they shouldn't have. I know what I go through when I eat it, I don't want her to go through that too.