suziq0805

Info For Daycare Provider

Rate this topic

My 1 year old will be beginning a new daycare in a couple of weeks. I'm a teacher so he's been home with me all summer and his previous daycare had another child with celiac there and that family was diagnosed before we began there and the staff was pretty educated already. We switched him because he kept getting so sick and so we're going from a center to an in-home daycare in hopes that he won't get 10 ear infections again this year.

My son is not diagnosed yet but we are treating him as if he is celiac until we decide how to figure out if he has celiac or had a sensitivity that he outgrew (when introduced to wheat he had severe vomitting and genetic testing was positive for 2 copies of DQ8). His new daycare provider seemed open to working with him. I will bring his lunch, snacks, bowls, silverware and such every day. But I also want to provide her with some info about celiac, but don't want to overwhelm her either. Has anyone found any brochures online that discuss the basics of cross-contamination and taking care of a child with celiac? The brochures I've found are more about the symptoms and testing. I could make my own info sheet but if there's one already out there it would save some time!

One other question...what would you recommend for a high chair?? Should I see if I could keep a high chair there for him that only he uses? He has a regular high chair and little one that sits on a regular chair- we got them both at rummage sales but have scrubbed them down really well before he used them. Do you think there could be cross-contamination issues if he would use the same high chair as other kids that have eaten gluten?