This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Losing Weight After Going gluten-free?

xxkristin

xxkristin Apprentice

I've been gluten free since March and I actually gained weight before being diagnosed, which I find interesting seeing as I've read (and my doctor told me) that most people with celiac lose weight before going gluten-free. Now, I am a university student, so I don't know if my weight gain (which was only a few pounds) was due to gluten or just the weight gain that a lot of students have.

In the past 2-3 months, I've actually lost all the weight I gained before being diagnosed. I have been going to the gym a couple days a week for the past 2-3 months, so it could simply be due to that, but I was wondering if other people gained weight before going gluten free/lost weight after going gluten free? I find it interesting that for me, it seems to be the opposite of what I've heard, where people lose weight before being diagnosed, and then gain weight after recovering.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Marilyn R Community Regular

I think most mainstream doctors think of celiac as a gastrointestinal problem. They screen, if they're good, for patients with malabsorbtion and excessive D, or if someone mentions that they have a first degree relative with it.

I'm not surprised that you lost weight. You have significantly reduced carb and processed food intake.

As for my own experience, I was spilling out of my size 14's, went on the South Beach Diet, went down to a 10.