Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Are there any painkillers that are free of both gluten and corn? My corn allergic friend can take advil geltabs, so I bought some of those, only to find that they contain gluten. Grr. I'm not as sensitive to corn as I am to gluten, so I have taken things that I know are gluten-free, but not free of corn when I absolutely can't stand it anymore. However, since both cause pain, it seems stupid to take something for pain that includes either ingredient. Anybody?

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

I am gluten/corn/soy free. After doing as much research as I could, I came to the conclusion there is nothing available EXCEPT BC Aspirin powder. I got some and found out I react VERY badly to aspirin now too, so I had to have Tylenol made at a compounding pharmacy. In South Dakota, you need a prescription to have even an over-the-counter medicine made. I got the prescription at the free clinic so I wouldn't have to pay $110 for a doctor's office visit. The Tylenol only cost $35 for 200 capsules. Not great, but not as bad as I had feared.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Argh. I was afraid that would be the answer. I don't even know if I could get a doctor to write a prescription for that. I fight through most things without taking meds, but there comes a point during my period when it's either curl up in corner and die or take something and remain mildly functional. My class of 4 and 5 year olds might freak out a bit if I chose the curl up and die approach. B) Tonight that means that I'm dealing with the rebound ick from breaking down and taking alleve earlier today. Stupid body.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not certain but I think Aleve is corn, soy and gluten free.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

I'll have to check into that. Would be awesome if that were the case. Unfortunately, what I took was the generic, which I'm fairly sure did have corn.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

From their website:

Does ALEVE contain gluten?We do not add any gluten to our products. However, we cannot guarantee that they are 100% gluten free as this product is produced in a facility that manufactures or packages other items which may contain gluten.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
    • Most Online

    Newest Member
  • Latest Posts

    • Phi Chocolates Makes some good truffles,  I buy myself them and some Lakanto Bars for the holidays. Chocolate

      ^Gluten Free, Dairy Free, and Sugar Free Truffles!

      ^Gluten Free, Sugar Free, Dairy Free, Soy Free bars OMG better then a Hershey bar https://www.lindtusa.com/gluten-free-chocolate-...
    • So I am in my late fifties and was diagnosed with Celiac disease about 8 months ago.  I travel a lot for work and the other day stopped in at McDonalds to have a Greek Salad, found out after it has couscous which contains wheat.  I find that after digesting gluten I get sick about an hour later and feel terrible for hours.  Does everyone experience this? I have been to 3 weddings and asked for Gluten free and have been sick twice, no more eating at weddings. ...
    • Alter eco is supposed to be gluten free as well, but there is another thread saying they are not. I'm never sure if people are actually reacting to gluten or if they cross react and then assume it's gluten. I had an alter eco truffle the other day and was fine, but again it's hard to track down what's factual information any more. 
  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
    • Total Posts
  • Blog Entries

  • Blog Statistics

    • Total Blogs
    • Total Entries
  • Upcoming Events