Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
cavernio

Zein Specifically

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Right, so, like, everything has corn. I find huge lists of corn derived ingredients. But I only want to avoid zein, at least for now. I'm having a really hard time, (impossible time really) separating corn ingredients from zein ingredients.

For instance, I've read that cellulose and microcrystalline cellulose contain corn. But when I read things like this, http://digitalcommons.unl.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1014&context=iapcpubs&sei-redir=1&referer=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.ca%2Furl%3Fsa%3Dt%26rct%3Dj%26q%3Dhow%2520is%2520microcrystalline%2520cellulose%2520made%26source%3Dweb%26cd%3D3%26ved%3D0CFcQFjAC%26url%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Fdigitalcommons.unl.edu%252Fcgi%252Fviewcontent.cgi%253Farticle%253D1014%2526context%253Diapcpubs%26ei%3DxFoZUKWxCsmR6gHLpoDQDg%26usg%3DAFQjCNGcewAVBx9soS-fY7ihJb4oEzM-Jg#search=%22how%20microcrystalline%20cellulose%20made%22

it specifically says that stalks or cobs are used. These would have little to no zein, so I don't want to worry about these. This is good because my vitamins contain these ingredients and I still want to take them while avoiding zein. But this is just 1 example where I *have* found that this a corn ingredient I feel safe ingesting while trying to figure out if my body reacts to zein.

I know to avoid the more obvious corn culprits, but there's gotta be thousands of chemicals that use corn in some way or another.

I've also read that some artificial flavors or colors that have corn might also not have zein, but not anything credible.

Can anyone help me out here? Links, ingredients, personal experiences with specific ingredients or products?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×