Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Curry Powder


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 lauradawn

lauradawn

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 112 posts

Posted 15 March 2004 - 07:20 PM

I LOVE curry, but I have read several times that curry powders are a cause for concern. I use Mccormick's red curry powder. I called the company, and they said that there is no worries about gluten in their seasonings. It is gluten-free! HOwever, one of the sites that I found says specifically that Mccormicks curry powder is NOT gluten-free! Im so confused. Does anyone know?????

If you like curry and know of a curry that is safe....I have a great recipe..! :rolleyes:
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 seeking_wholeness

seeking_wholeness

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 350 posts

Posted 15 March 2004 - 08:04 PM

Laura,

I have had no problems using The Spice Hunter brand East Indian Hot Curry powder. If there were even traces of gluten in it, my breastfeeding baby's eczema would flare up and start spreading, but it hasn't after any time I have made curried dishes. I also REALLY love the flavor (and it doesn't have any fenugreek, which I just plain can't stand)! I buy it at my local Whole Foods Market, but regular grocery stores in my area don't seem to carry it. I hope you can find some, and that you enjoy it as much as I do!
  • 0
Sarah
gluten-free since November 1, 2003

#3 GFdoc

GFdoc

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 122 posts

Posted 16 March 2004 - 08:42 AM

I called Spice Islands brand - they said that their curry powder was gluten-free.
800-247-5251
  • 0
Sara gluten-free since 9/03

#4 ztu

ztu

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 03 February 2009 - 08:15 AM

FYI I contacted Frontier Coop regarding their curry powder; they responded:

Good Morning,

Thank you for your inquiry. Frontier is not an allergen free facility, thus
we do not state that any of our products are allergen free. We follow
strict GMPs (Good Manufacturing Practices) to minimize the potential for
cross-contamination, but do not test for the presence of allergens in our
final products.
Gluten is present in our facility, so we are not able to state positively
that our products are gluten-free. We do have full ingredient disclosure on
our products.

If you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to ask. Have a
great day!

Brittany Miller
Customer Care
Frontier Natural Products Co-op


I'm playing it safe, so I'll skip this one and maybe try one of the ones mentioned above...

anyone know of other brands of gluten-free curry powder?
  • 0

#5 lovegrov

lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,533 posts

Posted 03 February 2009 - 09:28 AM

McCormick clearly lists gluten if it's present. They are a very dependable company. They are not lying to you.

In addition, I think the warning about curry powder is that it might have wheat mixed in. If it does, in the U.S. the wheat must be listed. To be honest, I can't remember ever finding a curry powder with gluten.

richard
  • 0

#6 lovegrov

lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,533 posts

Posted 03 February 2009 - 09:34 AM

"I'm playing it safe, so I'll skip this one and maybe try one of the ones mentioned above..."

Frontier is merely doing full disclosure. NO facility that has gluten inside can absolutely guarantee gluten-free.

richard
  • 0

#7 dilettantesteph

dilettantesteph

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,905 posts

Posted 03 February 2009 - 12:34 PM

Curry powder usually contains turmeric and turmeric can cause false positive results with what I think is the most commonly used test for gluten. I ran a test with it. It turns the whole solution a dark red, and the color of the positive indicator is around that same color. That might be why that one site said it contains gluten.
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: