Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up
  • Scott Adams

    Is Cream Cheese Gluten-Free and Safe for People with Celiac Disease?

    Scott Adams
    2 2
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      If you're wondering if cream cheese is gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease, then wonder no more. Nearly all cream cheeses are gluten-free.


    Image: CC BY 2.0--JeepersMedia
    Caption: Image: CC BY 2.0--JeepersMedia

    Celiac.com 12/16/2020 - We get more than a few questions about cream cheese. Specifically, is cream cheese gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease? Yes, most all cream cheese is gluten-free. 

    With few exceptions, cheeses are made with milk, cultures, and often some kind of rennet to make them form into solid cheese. Most cheeses are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease, and they appear on celiac.com's list of safe foods and ingredients. That includes most moldy cheeses like Blue, Gorgonzola, Roquefort, and, yes, cream cheese. 

    Cream cheese is a soft, usually mild-tasting fresh cheese made from milk and cream. According to the USDA, cream cheese must containing at least 33% milk fat, have a moisture content of not more than 55%, and a pH between 4.4 and 4.9.

    As with so many food that are naturally gluten-free, unless wheat or gluten ingredients are added during or after processing, cream cheese is gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. As usual, be sure to read all labels very carefully before you any products, including cream cheese.

    See our article on gluten-free cheeses.

    Edited by Scott Adams

    2 2

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments



    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 01/08/2019 - Doritos are one of the perennially popular snacks. They are also a major favorite for Super Bowl parties. But are Doritos gluten-free? We’ve heard that question more than a few times. The answer varies by flavor. Some Doritos varieties are gluten-free, some are not, and other flavors are free of wheat, rye, barley and oats. Use this handy list to help you choose your gluten-free snacks when Super Bowl LIII kicks off on Sunday, Feb. 3rd.
    These flavors of Doritos are labeled as Gluten-Free:
    DORITOS Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips DORITOS Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips The following f...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 06/06/2019 - One question we hear regularly is: Are Cheetos Gluten-Free? And what about other top brands of puffed, cheese flavored snacks? Well, Chester Cheetah can purr proudly, because America's best-selling brand of puffed cheese flavored snacks are in fact gluten-free. What other brands of cheesy puffed snacks are gluten-free?
    Gluten-Free Cheetos and Cheese Flavored Snacks
    Gluten-Free Cheetos and Cheese flavored puffed snacks include:
    Annie's Organic Cheddar Cheesy Puffs--Organic, gluten-free and made with 8 grams of baked whole grains. Biena Chickpea Puffs--Made with chickpeas, and lentils, Biena Chickpea ...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 10/09/2020 - We get more than a few question about cheese. Specifically, is cheese gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease? With few exceptions, cheeses are made with milk, cultures, and often some kind of rennet to make them form into solid cheese.
    Most cheeses are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease, and they appear on celiac.com's list of safe foods and ingredients. Unless wheat or gluten ingredients are added during or after processing, then cheese is gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. That includes moldy cheeses like Blue, Gorganzola and Roquefort.
    As always, check the label...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 11/20/2020 - People on a gluten-free diet for celiac disease or other reasons have had a good run lately. Nabisco recently announced that gluten-free versions of its Oreo Gluten-Free cookies and Oreo Double Stuf Gluten-Free cookies will be permanently available in stores nationwide starting in January, 2021. Now, in the latest gluten-free good news, Kraft's Gluten-Free Macaroni & Cheese is available at grocery stores nationwide. 
    Some sharp-eyed consumers have already spotted the gluten-free version of Kraft's classic gluten box on store shelves. That's because Kraft began quietly rolling out the product to major chains like Target ...