Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter
  • Join Our Community!

    Ask us a question in our celiac / gluten-free forum.

  • Scott Adams

    Ten Ben Jerry's Ice Cream Flavors Now Certified Gluten-Free

    Scott Adams
    0
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      Ten of Ben & Jerry's most popular ice cream flavors are now certified gluten-free, with another ten coming exclusively to participating Scoop Shops nationwide.


    Certified gluten-free flavors. Image: Ben & Jerry's
    Caption: Certified gluten-free flavors. Image: Ben & Jerry's

    Celiac.com 10/16/2020 - Ben & Jerry's ice cream company has announced certified gluten-free status for ten of its most popular ice cream flavors. These flavors will be available at stores nationwide. Even though most Ben & Jerry’s ice cream flavors are made without gluten ingredients, and are safe for people with celiac disease or gluten-sensitivity, the company's new move goes the extra mile.

    According to a company press release, Ben & Jerry's "didn’t make any changes to the recipes...These flavors have always been gluten-free, but now we have the resources to do the rigorous testing required for certification, said Jody Eley, Ben & Jerry’s innovation manager, in a press release.”



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    Each of the new flavors comes with a new logo, along with a gluten-free certification from a major “Gluten Free Certification Agency." For people with celiac disease, or gluten sensitivity, Eley said, the gluten-free "certification can give them a little peace of mind.”

    Ben & Jerry's Ten Certified Gluten-Free Ice-Cream Flavors include:

    • Cherry Garcia
    • Chunky Monkey
    • Coffee, Coffee BuzzBuzzBuzz!
    • Karamel Sutra
    • More Cherry Garcia, including non-dairy, FroYo and mini-cup versions
    • New York Super Fudge Chunk
    • Phish Food
    • Pistachio, Pistachio
    • Vanilla
    • Vanilla Caramel Fudge

    Ben & Jerry's plans to introduce more gluten-free flavors next year, but these flavors will be available exclusively in Scoop Shops. 

    Ben & Jerry's Certified Gluten-Free Ice-Cream Flavors for Scoop Shop will include:

    • Butter Pecan
    • Chocolate
    • Chocolate Peanut Buttery Swirl
    • Coffee, Coffee BuzzBuzzBuzz!
    • Mint Chocolate Chunk
    • Oatmeal Cookie Chunk (with gluten-free oatmeal cookies)
    • Strawberry
    • Lemonade Stand Sorbet
    • Non-Dairy Cold Brew
    • Berry Berry Extraordinary Sorbet

    Ben & Jerry's Gluten-Free ice cream flavors for Scoop Shop will be certified gluten-free at the time they ship from the factory, and they have been added to our list of gluten-free ice creams.

    Due to cross-contamination risk Ben & Jerry's cannot certify their ice cream flavors as gluten-free once in Scoop Shops, but our Scoop Shop scoopers will gladly open a new tub as requested. 
     

    Learn more at Ben & Jerry's

    Edited by Scott Adams

    0

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.



    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Melissa Reed
    Celiac.com 08/14/2014 - I have missed ice cream cakes since I was diagnosed with celiac disease. Below is a make-ahead ice cream cake for a gluten-free birthday celebration, so that no one has to miss ice cream cake again!
    You will need:
    1 Gluten Free Betty Crocker Devil’s Food Cake Mix ½ - 1 gallon Gluten Free Vanilla Ice Cream, or Favorite gluten-free Ice Cream Flavor 1- 2 Containers Duncan Hines or other Gluten Free Fudge Frosting Cake Decorating Frosting, optional to write happy birthday message Candles, optional for birthday party. Directions:
    Bake the Gluten free Devil’s Food Cake as p...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 06/23/2020 - If you have celiac disease, or are gluten-free for other medical reasons, getting a good gluten-free ice cream bar, ice cream sandwich or ice cream cone can be a struggle. Every summer, we get questions like this one: Are Klondike Bars gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease? In fact, we get a lot of questions about ice cream, and specifically about which ice cream bars, sandwiches and cones are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. Just in time for summer, here are five top gluten-free ice cream bars, sandwiches and cones that are widely available at stores near you.
    Dove
    All Dove ice...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 06/24/2020 - For people with celiac disease, and those who are gluten-free for other medical reasons, it can be a battle to get a good, reliable brand and flavor of gluten-free ice cream. True, most ice cream is made without gluten ingredients and may be gluten-safe, even if not labeled "Gluten-Free." However, the trouble starts with added ingredients, especially cookies, or cookie dough, among others. Be especially careful of any cookies or cookie dough ingredients.
    Just in time for summer, here are more than a hundred top gluten-free ice cream brands and flavors that are widely available at stores near you. Do you have a favorite ice ...

    Scott Adams
    McDonald's is not known for its gluten-free offerings. If you are are at a McDonald's, the number of safe food offerings are slim. So, what about the coffee drinks, like the McDonald's Frappe? Is the McDonald's Frappe gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease?
    McDonald's Frappes are sweet espresso drinks blended with ice and covered with whipped topping, available in Caramel or Mocha flavors. We've gotten numerous questions on our gluten-free and celiac disease forum about McDonald's Frappes.
    We get more than a few question about McDonald's Frappes. Specifically, are McDonald's Frappes gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac...