Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

lisa74

Store Bought Frozen Yogurt

Recommended Posts

Hi all, I searched through the threads here but couldn't find a topic on this already. There was one about TCBY store but I'm wanting to know about store bought brands. Can anyone tell me which brands of frozen yogurt (at the store) are gluten free? Thanks! :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi all, I searched through the threads here but couldn't find a topic on this already. There was one about TCBY store but I'm wanting to know about store bought brands. Can anyone tell me which brands of frozen yogurt (at the store) are gluten free? Thanks! :)

Hi Lisa.  I'm not a frequent buyer of frozen yogurt, but it would seem probable that most would be gluten free with the exception of cookies and crunch type items, added. Wheat would certainly be listed on the ingredient listing and barley/malt/rye would not likely be an ingredient in frozen yogurt.

 

Google can often be your friend.  Try to Google "Gluten Free Yogurt" :)

 

Here is information regarding ice cream:

 

http://voices.yahoo.com/where-find-gluten-free-ice-cream-6456200.html

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks! I did check google and other search engines and found conflicting info. I like to ask celiac questions here since there are more tried and true answers here. I've looked on the back of frozen yogurts over the past few weeks but it's confusing, especally when something says "natural flavor" as I've heard gluten could be a hidden factor in that. Not always, but sometimes. So I'd like to know if anyone here knows for sure about which store bought brands of frozen yogurt are gluten free. I of course already know to avoid ones that have cake and cookie pieces, etc.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When a product lists "natural flavor" and does not list "wheat" either in the ingredient list or in an allergen disclosure, it's not there.  Wheat must be listed, by law, if it's an ingredient in a product in the US.

 

Sometime you need to judge a product which might contain barley, malt or rye ( which are not required by US law to be listed)  I have seen barley/malt in some salad dressings and some chocolates....but not too many products.

 

Yogurt would not be a product that I would suspect wheat, barley, malt or rye would be a containing ingredient.  But, I would encourage you to contact the company and inquire for yourself.  I always appreciate input, but I am always more confident when I can put my finger on the issue myself.  :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...