This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Question On Caffeine And Alcohol

HumanDecency

HumanDecency Contributor

So, I've been doing a lot better for the past several months - thanks to my doctors and a lot of you on the forum. That's a good thing. Last night I decided to be a bit brave at my weekly trivia game and I ordered a coke in a disposable cup. I haven't had a coke in quite a while because one of my symptoms that popped up around Celiac diagnosis was really bad heartburn. Well, the waiter was a peach and was trying to help me out as much as possible when I explained my predicament to him. I don't eat out at restaurants yet, but he was helpful and I appreciated that. Eventually he told me they had some New Planet in the back. I thought what the hell, I'll try one.

Well, anyway, at about the same time I had 4 oz of coke and less than 1 oz of New Planet. my stomach started to hurt and it ached pretty much all night. Now I am quite bloated today and burping quite a lot. Since I had them at the same time I am not sure if it was the caffeine or the tiny bit of alcohol. Anyone ever have anything similar? is that just from abstaining for so long or do you think I'm still sensitive? 

Just curious.

Time to keep battling on! 

Thanks,
jesse

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

kareng Grand Master

Or the high fructose corn syrup in the coke?  Or the acid of the coke? or the carbonation?  Or the aspartame if it was a diet coke?  Or you have a problem with hops?  Or sorghum?  Something you ate before you got there? Pretty hard to say.