Jump to content
  • Sign Up
Celiac.com Sponsor:


Celiac.com Sponsor:

josh052980

Cleaning My Coffee Pot...

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Anyone have any tips here? Before I was gluten-free, I'd use white vinegar, but I react to white vinegar despite it being gluten-free (found this out because I cleaned my coffee pot with white vinegar and am currently feeling less than stellar). What can I use that won't make me feel like $#!+...?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Anyone have any tips here? Before I was gluten-free, I'd use white vinegar, but I react to white vinegar despite it being gluten-free (found this out because I cleaned my coffee pot with white vinegar and am currently feeling less than stellar). What can I use that won't make me feel like $#!+...?

 

 

Heinz vinegar is made from corn.  Maybe you didn't rinse enough? 

 

http://www.heinzvinegar.com/faq.aspx

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Heinz vinegar is made from corn.  Maybe you didn't rinse enough? 

 

http://www.heinzvinegar.com/faq.aspx

I'll keep Heinz in mind next time, I just grabbed a store brand this time. Didn't know it'd make me react at all though, I hadn't used it since being gluten-free. Maybe once I get some coffee through there a few more times I'll be good to go again.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'll keep Heinz in mind next time, I just grabbed a store brand this time. Didn't know it'd make me react at all though, I hadn't used it since being gluten-free. Maybe once I get some coffee through there a few more times I'll be good to go again.

 

 

If I clean a pot with vinegar - I think it tastes like vinegar for a few times.  I run water through  a cycle  at least 3 times to get it all out.  Its probably not gluten as vinegar is gluten-free because of how its made. And vinegar in coffee would make me feel icky!

Edited by kareng

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, it's not a glutening. I feel similar, but not as severe. Plus, like you said, vinegar is gluten-free because of how it's made. Hell, I live in MI, it could be my sinuses... Sinus/allergies have made me feel like this before too. Thanks for the tip on Heinz though!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well I do have a corn problem. I love to pickle stuff! I bet if I go look at the vinegar I use it will be Heinz ... I go to a small grocery store to get it , it is the only brand they sell. Looks like I might have to go somewhere eles to get my Vinegar ... Very informational!! TY 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...