Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Thrillrose

Confused By Icing Sugar

Recommended Posts

I have a packet of Icing mixture here and the ingredients state sugar (sucrose) and tapioca starch.

 

If I read those ingredients only I would assume it is gluten free. However underneath it says it contains gluten. How does it contain gluten??

 

 Or is it like on lollies where the only ingredient is glucose syrup from wheat and it still says contains gluten, even though it doesn't.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Luckily they add the "contains gluten part" so there is no guessing.  In the case of the icing mixture, it is likely that it is made on shared equipment and is probably contaminated with gluten, so they just put that statement on there.  If you aren't sure why they put the statement on there, like in the case of the glucose syrup, you can write the company to ask.  Then you can use that info to judge whether or not it is safe to consume.


I am my husband's "Silly Yak Girl" :)

I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in January 2013. I also have Lupus and Common Variable Immunodeficiency(CVID) for which I am on IVIG.

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter



Join eNewsletter


  • Celiac.com Sponsors (A19):


  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      91,733
    • Most Online
      6,255

    Newest Member
    Denise 13
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      115,411
    • Total Posts
      968,560

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):


  • Who's Online (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):


  • Blog Entries