Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Maltodextrin should be gluten free if it is produced in the United States, but in other places it might be questionable. I tend to make it a policy to call the company and check if the product is gluten free if I see things like maltodextrin, natural flavors, modified food starch, vinegar (if it doesn't specifiy whether or not it is distilled or a vinegar other than white) etc in the ingredients label. Usually the company will confirm that it's safe, but other times they might disclose the fact that even if the maltodextrin is ok, the product might be at risk for cross-contamination. People who have other ways of going about it might give you different advice. In my mind, it never hurts to check.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest Viola

Yes, Malto dextrin is made from corn starch in both the US and Canada. It is gluten free :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It can also be rice based. Not just corn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It can be rice or wheat, but if so must be labelled. Food sold in Canada and the US with the unqualified ingredient maltodextrin must be of corn-based maltodextrin. The product could still contain gluten from another ingredient, but the maltodextrin is gluten-free. This is true regardless of the country of origin of the food. To be sold in Canada or the US it must conform to Canadian or US labelling regulations respectively.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Interesting.

I eat a vegan cheese that is maltodextrin derived, and was getting a little ill from it when I was rice sensitive, and noticed that the maltodextin in French was listed as 'riz' (rice in French), but in English, it wasn't labelled. I called the company (and it says on the website, too), that it is a combo of corn and rice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As said before, Maltodextrin can be in U.S products but it must say wheat right on the label by it. So if you see a label that says Maltodextrin and it just says that...if it is in the U.S it will be safe.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My daughter was diagnosed in March as being celiac and my brain is reeling with the celiac "dos" and "don'ts" as I relearn how to cook and read labels. So...my understanding is that maltodextrin is fine if made in the U.S. or Canada. Dextrin, on the other hand...is not gluten-free...correct?

My daughter was diagnosed in March as being celiac and my brain is reeling with the celiac "dos" and "don'ts" as I relearn how to cook and read labels. So...my understanding is that maltodextrin is fine if made in the U.S. or Canada. Dextrin, on the other hand...is not gluten-free...correct?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...