Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Mia H

Maggi Seasoning

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Does anyone know if these ingredients are safe? I thought if they are it would be a good substitute for soy sauce since it tastes similar. Thanks!

water

hydrolyzed corn gluten

soy protein

salt

artificial flavor

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hydrolized Corn Gluten should be OK... ie no wheat gluten.

BUT- I remember the day I was diagnosed and went through my frig.... the maggi sauce was one of the bottles that ended up in the trash.... said 'wheat gluten' right on the label.

Here is the list of ingredients I found on the web:

Water, Salt, Wheat gluten, Wheat, Sugar, Wheat bran, Acetic acid, Caramel color, Artificial flavor, Disodium inosinate, Disodium guanylate, Dextrose monohydrate, Yeast.

So Maggi seasoning/suace is definatley a No-No!!

are you in canada, perhaps? sometimes there are big differences in ingredients when crossing the border?

Pam

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hydrolized Corn Gluten should be OK... ie no wheat gluten.

BUT- I remember the day I was diagnosed and went through my frig.... the maggi sauce was one of the bottles that ended up in the trash.... said 'wheat gluten' right on the label.

Here is the list of ingredients I found on the web:

Water, Salt, Wheat gluten, Wheat, Sugar, Wheat bran, Acetic acid, Caramel color, Artificial flavor, Disodium inosinate, Disodium guanylate, Dextrose monohydrate, Yeast.

So Maggi seasoning/suace is definatley a No-No!!

are you in canada, perhaps? sometimes there are big differences in ingredients when crossing the border?

Pam

I bought it at a Ukrainian deli so it probably is imported from Germany, but it is probably also very old so I think I should throw it away anyway. But if hydrolyzed corn gluten is ok maybe I will get a new bottle at the deli because it tastes like soy sauce and I like the flavor. Are there gluten-free soy sauces available? I didn't see any at my health food store.

Thanks!

Mia

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi again Mia,

I use and really like San-J Wheat Free Tamari (they also have a low-sodium version).

LaChoy soy sauce is also gluten free, but I personally think it is not good tasting at all.

Good Luck,

Pam

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...