This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

I'm A Newbie

JoBeth14

JoBeth14 Newbie

My mom had an episode yesterday. She started having a panic attack because her head felt funny. She was very dizzy. she couldn't even walk i didnt know what to do :unsure: can anyone help me help her, she is very depressed now every time i eat somthing she cant have she says i cant eat that in a mean way i donno wat to say!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

CarlaB Enthusiast

JoBeth, I am guessing you are 14 by your name? I have kids, both older and younger than you. Your mom is going through a tough time and doesn't mean to hurt you. It's a hard illness to deal with. It's good for you to be understanding. You should not have to feel bad for eating around her, but if it's making her feel bad, maybe until she's doing better you should try to be a little discreet about what you eat in front of her. It's not fair, I know. Depression can be part of this disease. I take herbs for it myself.

There's nothing you can do for her depression and panic attacks. Do you have a Dad in the home you can talk to about that? Is she seeing a doctor? I know that sometimes it's the children in the house that see things the most clearly, but sometimes the adults don't take kids' comments seriously. For that reason, I would recommend going to another adult (father, grandparent, aunt, uncle, etc.) and telling them the problem so that they can talk to your mom about it. You should also tell her how you feel.