Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts

I'm alittle confused with what soft drinks are gluten free. I was under the impression all soft drinks with carmel coloring (dark colored drinks) are NOT gluten free and should be avoided but I've seen some discussions of some Celiacs drinking Cokes and Dr. Peppers. Does anyone know for sure if they are safe?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


I'm alittle confused with what soft drinks are gluten free. I was under the impression all soft drinks with carmel coloring (dark colored drinks) are NOT gluten free and should be avoided but I've seen some discussions of some Celiacs drinking Cokes and Dr. Peppers. Does anyone know for sure if they are safe?

Coke and Pepsi are gluten free, as well as diet coke and pepsi. There are some people who react to the carmel coloring, but it is not gluten related. I am not a coffee drinker and a good cold pepsi in the morning is a must for me.


Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Coke is gluten free, I drink it all the time and have no problems. I am also not a coffee drinker so I need my coke in the morning. I love coke in the glass bottles....just too expensive.


~~~~Gluten Free since 9/2004~~~~~~

Friends may come and go but Sillies are Forever!!!!!!!

36_22_10[1].gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

According to the Delphi Gluten Free Product List - 2006:

All are gluten free -

Diet Rite - all

Dr. Pepper - all

V-8 - all (including splash)

Lipton Teas - all

Ocean Spray - all

Snapple - all

Tropicana 100% Juice - all

Hope this is a start.


Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The issue of carmel coloring seems to come up frequently. My understanding is that carmel color in the US is safe. It may or may not be safe if the carmel color is in a product not produced in the US. Most soft drinks are gluten-free as another poster pointed out.

Hez

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would like to ask is any one has had an issue with Stewarts Drinks....Cream Soda is a wonderful childhood memory for me. They are not listed on Delfi.


Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Soft drinks are generally gluten-free. I can't say every single one out there is, but in general soft drinks are very low on the danger scale. Caramel color simply is not a problem in the U.S.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


  • Celiac.com Sponsors (A19):


  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      91,994
    • Most Online
      6,255

    Newest Member
    Bob Loblaw
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      115,610
    • Total Posts
      969,295

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):


  • Who's Online (See full list)


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):


  • Blog Entries