Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

dally099

Hp Sauce-gluten Free?

Recommended Posts

hi just wondering if anyone knows if HP sauce is gluten free. looked on the web and the heinz site says nothing, phone the company and got an answering machine, thanks


Nadine

mom of 4 great kids - 2 diagnosed with autism and 2 typical kids (thank goodness)

all this started after my hysterectomy in March of 2006

G.F. since Feb 2007

Soy free since April 2007

Blood work was negatvie (after 2 weeks of being on the gluten-free diet)

entrolab results:

Antigliadin 9 (normal <10)

HLA-DQB1 Allele 1 - 0302

HLA-DQB2 Allele 2 - 0502

HLA-DQ 3,1 (subtype 8,5)

carrying one celiac gene and one gluten intolerant gene

nurse at entrolab figures i caught this early and dont eat gluten anymore

life is like a box of chocolates;sometimes you get stuck with the yukky coconut fillet one

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Sorry to be the one to break this to ya, but no, regular HP Sauce is not gluten free. I believe their steak sauce is ok, but the regular brown sauce is a no no. My hubbys favorite.. used to be mine too! lol


Stephanie

Gluten free since October 05

son born severly premature due to

celiac

"True love stories never end" Richard Bach

"Did you ever stop thinking and forget to start again?" AA Milne

If you live to be a hundred, I want to live to be a hundred minus one day so I never have to live without you" AA Milne

Swimming Instructor #2 and Town Crier of Rachelville

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Sorry to be the one to break this to ya, but no, regular HP Sauce is not gluten free. I believe their steak sauce is ok, but the regular brown sauce is a no no. My hubbys favorite.. used to be mine too! lol

oh see now im confused cause i finally got a call back from lea perkins and she said its gluten free, this is just the normal sauce, dosent say steak sauce on the bottle, crap its great in meat loaf. but my joints and being tired tell me otherwise, oh well what do you do? guess my hubby is eating leftover meat loaf tonight.


Nadine

mom of 4 great kids - 2 diagnosed with autism and 2 typical kids (thank goodness)

all this started after my hysterectomy in March of 2006

G.F. since Feb 2007

Soy free since April 2007

Blood work was negatvie (after 2 weeks of being on the gluten-free diet)

entrolab results:

Antigliadin 9 (normal <10)

HLA-DQB1 Allele 1 - 0302

HLA-DQB2 Allele 2 - 0502

HLA-DQ 3,1 (subtype 8,5)

carrying one celiac gene and one gluten intolerant gene

nurse at entrolab figures i caught this early and dont eat gluten anymore

life is like a box of chocolates;sometimes you get stuck with the yukky coconut fillet one

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anybody really know what is gluten free. I just made my girlfriend a steak(with original hp "steak" sauce) and she has stomach pains now. She had a mars bar earlier and found out that its not gluten free either.

she looked over the ingredients in the sauce and found nothing that was supposedly harmful. I feel so bad like I poisoned her or something. We will have to look up everything we eat on the internet from now on, no matter the ingredients

here is the list of ingredients, maybe someone can please tell me what was the harmful one

white vinegar

water

glucose-fructose

blackstrap molasses

tomato pure

dates

modified corn

starch

salt

concentrated orange juice

spices(would be nice if they said what ones)

onions

tamarind extract

concentrated apple juice

garlic

chili peppers

caramel

mustard flour

corn syrup

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anybody really know what is gluten free. I just made my girlfriend a steak(with original hp "steak" sauce) and she has stomach pains now. She had a mars bar earlier and found out that its not gluten free either.

she looked over the ingredients in the sauce and found nothing that was supposedly harmful. I feel so bad like I poisoned her or something. We will have to look up everything we eat on the internet from now on, no matter the ingredients

here is the list of ingredients, maybe someone can please tell me what was the harmful one

white vinegar

water

glucose-fructose

blackstrap molasses

tomato pure

dates

modified corn

starch

salt

concentrated orange juice

spices(would be nice if they said what ones)

onions

tamarind extract

concentrated apple juice

garlic

chili peppers

caramel

mustard flour

corn syrup

I googled it, and it said the vinegar is MALT vinegar. That is probably the issue. The Heinz gluten-free list does NOT include HP.


Gluten free is not so bad! If you are new, hang it there, it gets easier!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I googled it, and it said the vinegar is MALT vinegar. That is probably the issue. The Heinz gluten-free list does NOT include HP.

Maybe someone with more info can verify this but as far as I was told that modified corn starch or any other modified starch of anykind is a no no for celiacs. I myself cannot have modified corn starch at all as I react horribly to it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Corn starch is gluten-free, even if modified. Modified starch has been partially broken down. Nothing has been added. It is true that some people with celiac disease have other food intolerances, and corn can be one of them. But the majority of us tolerate corn, and can safely eat corn starch and modified corn starch.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Corn starch is gluten-free, even if modified. Modified starch has been partially broken down. Nothing has been added. It is true that some people with celiac disease have other food intolerances, and corn can be one of them. But the majority of us tolerate corn, and can safely eat corn starch and modified corn starch.

Thanks Peter. I knew cornstarch itself was okay but had always been told to stay away from the modified. Like you said though, some people have different tolerences then others.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

hi just wondering if anyone knows if HP sauce is gluten free. looked on the web and the heinz site says nothing, phone the company and got an answering machine, thanks

i wondered the same thing..i thought there was malt vinegar in it but it said white so i went ahead and had it, but ive been feeling a bit irritated and tired all day...i think i read some hwere you have to watch for dates ( maybe the coating on them?) i also read some caramel coloring may not be gluten free.im going to try calling the company too!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i also read some caramel coloring may not be gluten free.

Caramel color is one of those celiac urban myths that just won't go away.

Here is Shelley Case's take on it, from Gluten-Free Diet A Comprehensive Resource Guide:

Although gluten-containing ingredients (barley malt syrup and starch hydrolysates) can be used in the production of caramel color, North American companies use corn as it has a longer shelf life and makes a superior product. European companies use glucose derived from wheat starch, however caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten.
[Emphasis in original]

Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Caramel color is one of those celiac urban myths that just won't go away.

Here is Shelley Case's take on it, from Gluten-Free Diet A Comprehensive Resource Guide:

[Emphasis in original]

thank you! i've been meaning to look up Shelly Case's site..

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would love if it was gluten-free. My husband is from England so this was a staple in our house, especially the Fruity one, that was my favorite. I must have read somewhere that it was not gluten-free, because I banished it from the house, but I really wish it was safe!


Anne in Chicago

Pescatarian since 2005

Diagnosed by blood test February 2009, biopsy June 2009, at age 36

Gluten-free since 3.16.2009

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites