Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ebrbetty

Non-distilled Vinegar?

Recommended Posts

If A product just says vinegar, not Disstilled is it still gluten-free or does it have to be distilled?

I see so many foods that the ingredients look fine, but have vinegar, not distilled so I don't by it?

Thanks!


~Betty

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


If A product just says vinegar, not Disstilled is it still gluten-free or does it have to be distilled?

I see so many foods that the ingredients look fine, but have vinegar, not distilled so I don't by it?

Thanks!

If the product is made in the US and it just says vinager by law it is supposed to be apple cider. It should be safe if it just says vinager. Also some distilled vinagers are derived from corn and wood, as someone who does have issues with distilled gluten grains I have never had an issue with distilled derived from those.


Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying

"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)

Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002

Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis

All bold resoved or went into remission in time with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002

 Gene Test Aug 2007

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0303

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0303

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 9,9)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

thank you so much, I missed some good foods by thinking it was not safe lol


~Betty

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I saw a dietician yesterday and she gave me the impression that only "malt" vinegar was bad. Distilled and white wine vinegar should be okay...but I'm VERY new at this :)


Amber

Mom of twin girls Perry & Ella (11.5.05) and Luca (5.2.07)

Diagnosed with Celiac Disease 7.16.07

Gluten-free 7.17.07

Perry & Ella tested negative (blood test) 8/2007

Luca tested negative (blood test) 7/2009

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites