This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Bob's Red Mill gluten-free Flour & Mixes...

OhLaDeDa

OhLaDeDa Newbie

Ok, I'm new to all of this. I've been looking through the posts trying to get an idea of products, etc. The only gluten-free items I've tried so far are the gluten-free flour and gluten-free pancake mix from Bob's Red Mill. Silly me, didn't look closely at the pancake mix ingredients and found out rather quickly that it has corn in it. I'm allergic to corn also. I've made cookies and biscuits with the gluten-free flour and it wasn't bad. I did notice a little bit of a grainy texture in the things I made. So, finally, my question is... Is the texture common among all the gluten-free products or was it just the brand I chose?

Thanks for your input!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Johnny Cool Rookie

We're new also, husband (whose username this is) was just diagnosed by biopsy a couple weeks ago. So far I've tried rice flour in two instances, cheese sauce, and corn bread, and they both turned out well. I like the softness and finer texture it has. We haven't gotten to Trader Joe's or Whole Foods yet, so hopefully when we do we'll find other things. We tried a new Super Wal Mart 'cuz somebody on here said they had an entire gluten-free aisle, but apparently the one in Madison, WI is not one that does.