This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Getting To Know My Celiac Son

FoxersArtist

FoxersArtist Contributor

Hello everyone.

This is my first time posting in this section and I have only been part of this forum for a week or so. I wanted to share my story, if for no other reason, it feels good to share with someone.

I have been sick as long as I can recall and have always had a lot of stress in my life which seemed to aggrivate the health issues I had. Even the worst of the worst that I had gone through seems like it does not compare when I reflect back on the past 2 years of my life. When I first got pregnant with my son almost 3 years ago, my health really started to decline which was topped with a complicated pregnancy which icluded pre term labor and a sever DVT. Our son was born 5 weeks early and weighed 5 lbs. We were greatful when we learned that he would not have to go to the NICU but our troubles soon began. Our son refused to eat and he rapidly dropped weight and body temperature. The Drs. words of warning were bewildering and so we took to trying to force feed our tiny infant. Force feeding was the most difficult thing we had ever felt forced to do and when we tried to get help from our son's perdiatrician, he told us over and over that an infant would never starve itself. But our boy was failing to thrive and this only got worse when I gave up on trying to nurse him.