Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

jennyj

Planning A Celiac Seminar

As a few of you may know we own a hardware store but because of my celiac we also sell gluten free foods. Recently I have had several newly dianosed customers who come in for food but also just to have someone who understands to talk to. I have been toying with the idea of hosting a three hour -seminar, symposium, meeting??- so we can meet together and talk as a group. I always tell my customers that I can only tell them things from a personal standpoint because I am not a medical professional but that is what they want to talk about. If I were to do this I need some ideas on what to do?? I had thought about contacting the local hospital's dietician, some local resturaunt managers, and maybe the school lunch supervisor to sit in on this so they can get a better understanding of the diease and see how important this knowledge is for them to serve those who suffer from celiac. I had also thought of serving a totally gluten-free meal so those who are new to cooking can see that it can be done. Other than that I need to know what else to do. I have a location but have not set a time, probably later this year, so it isn't something I am going to rush into. Please think about it and if you have any advice I would love to hear from you. Thanks in advance.

jennyj

Diagnosed March 2006 celiac sprue

Severe iron deficent anemia Jan 2002

Hypoglecemia 2000

"I can do all things through Christ who strenghtens me"

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

You may want to contact mamaw, a member here. She has a support group in her town, and I'm sure she'd be a big help as to ideas, etc. :)

Patti

"Life is what happens while you're busy making other plans"

"When people show you who they are, believe them"--Maya Angelou

"Bloom where you are planted"--Bev