Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
positivenrgfairy

Caramel Coloring

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I've read a few different things - I had a a reaction earlier and have definitely eaten something with caramel coloring in it. is caramel coloring gluten-free or not?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the U.S., caramel coloring is almost always made from corn. If it were to be made from wheat, wheat would have to be listed on the ingredient label since it is a "top 8". So, unless the ingredients say wheat, caramel coloring is gluten-free.

Vinegars vary. White vinegar is corn-derived so should be gluten-free. Cider vinegar is apple-derived so should be gluten-free. Malt vinegar has malted barley so it is NOT gluten-free. Some say the distillation process kills off the proteins, but my gastro doc, who is also celiac, said an absolute "NO!" to malt vinegar in the celiac diet.

Some of the discrepancy and confusion as to the gluten-free status of many foods arises from the fact that in the U.S., gluten-free foods don't have to be free-of-gluten. A food only has to be less than 10ppm (parts per million) of gluten content to be considered gluten-free.

Michelle

Western Washington State

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the U.S. you will not find caramel coloring with gluten. In 8 years, I've never seen it.

Distilled vinegar is gluten-free. "Vinegar" is distilled vinegar and is gluten-free. Cider vinegar is gluten-free.

"Some say the distillation process kills off the proteins, but my gastro doc, who is also celiac, said an absolute "NO!" to malt vinegar in the celiac diet."

You are confused. I don't know of a single person with celiac disease or any celiac disease expert who says malt vinegar is gluten-free. Malt vinegar is NOT distilled and is most definitely not gluten-free.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The following is from the FDA website. Caramel coloring can be made from malt (barley). That would not have to be declared on the label. How often it is I don't know. The gluten would likely be in extremely small amounts but someone who is supersensitive might have issues.

http://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh...ch.cfm?fr=73.85

(a)Identity. (1) The color additive caramel is the dark-brown liquid or solid material resulting from the carefully controlled heat treatment of the following food-grade carbohydrates:

Dextrose.

Invert sugar.

Lactose.

Malt sirup.

Molasses.

Starch hydrolysates and fractions thereof.

Sucrose.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In 8 years I have yet to hear of anybody who has found caramel coloring with gluten. Most celiac disease experts and organizations now consider caramel coloring safe, at least in the U.S. I guess it's a personal decision, but it's just not an ingredient I worry about any more.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×