alpha752

Too Much Fruit?

Rate this topic

SO Im new to this Celiac thing (thank God for this site, its been very helpful). Im a little over a week into the Gluten Free diet, although ive screwed up a couple times. Ive been eating a TON of fruit because, honestly, there isnt much gluten-free food that tastes good. By a lot of fruit I mean, 2-3 apples, 1 banana, and a soup bowl full of grapes a day. Im also trying to avoid HF Corn syrup just as a general health thing, so ive been drinking 100% fruit juice, about 1/2 gallon a day.

I know fruit is a diuretic, but do you ever build up a tolerance to it? Right now I feel as if I ate a loaf of bread, and I know that everything I ate today was specifically gluten-free. Is too much fruit just as bad?

Too much Vitamin C can cause bowel problems. So I sure too much fruit or fruit juice could do the same.

that's an aweful lot of sugars, (even without added HFCS) have you had anything to eat besides fruits? You still need protiens and fats in your diet. Just because you're gluten intolerant doesn't mean you're stuck eating only fruits all day every day.

1 apple is about 14.34 grams of sugar, and not even half a gram of protien

1 banana is 14.43 grams of sugar, and 1.29 grams of protien

1 cup of grapes is 14.95 grams of sugar and only .58 gram of protien.

The juice is pretty much just all sugars because there's no fibre in it.

Yes, I'd say there is such a thing as too much fruit. Try to mix it up a bit, and get a proper balance of healthy fats, protiens, and carbs.