~sparky~

Positive Celiac Biopsy/Negative Blood Test

Rate this topic

I am brand new to all of this and am finding celiac disease quite daunting to say the least! I had a colonoscopy and a gastroscopy done. From the biopsies that were taken, my GI doctor confirmed that I have celiac disease. My doctor then ordered a blood test to confirm that I had the antigens (please forgive me if I am butchering the lingo, as I said, I am new to this!) celiac disease, but the blood test came back negative. He is still convinced I have celiac disease and wants me to continue with the wheat and gluten free diet. I have been wheat free and gluten free for about six weeks now, or as wheat/gluten free as a newbie can be - I am sure I make mistakes without knowing. My problem is that I continue to lose weight and have diarrhea several times a day, even if I only eat rice krispies with soy milk which I know is safe! I have been back to the doctor with my problem and he has ordered a CAT scan and prescribed something for the diarrhea.

Has anyone had a similar problem? Positive celiac biopsies and negative blood tests? Or continued intestinal problems with safe foods?

Thank you for any advice or help you can offer! :rolleyes:

what brand rice krispies? i don't think kellogg's are safe. that may be your problem!

Hi Sparky. Yes, it is not unusual for a celiac blood test to show no antibodies after six weeks on a gluten free diet. The antibodies can leave the blood stream quite quickly. You are fortunate :D that the biopsy was positive because this is considered to be the "gold standard" of diagnosis.