masterjen

Celiac And Casein

Rate this topic

Early on in this going gluten-free process (now in week 5), I switched to lactose-free milk in case I am one of those who has become lactose intolerant because of being gluten intolerant. I also have not had soy beverages (again as a precaution). I think I've tolerated lactose-free milk well, but in the past couple of days I've been having a return of my previous rib discomfort (pressure, heaviness) with minimal chance I'm eating gluten (I've switched to eating only pure/whole food, and nothing processed or pre-packaged). This morning I intentionally had a glass of warm milk when I got up and nothing else, and within 1/2 an hour the rib discomfort started. Based on things I've read, I'm wondering if I may be reacting to casein. Is it possible to be reacting now and not in the initial couple of weeks, or did I perhaps just miss the signs of reacting to it?

Although I am not a doctor, I can tell you that when I first started being dairy free (a few years before my celiac diagnosis) the symptoms didn't make sense either. Sometimes dairy foods wouldn't bother me, and other times they would. Sometimes I could react in a short period of time (30 minutes or so), other times I would react hours later. From what I have read, dairy related foods aren't something we as humans are naturally set up to process (like all this wheat!). I would recommend cutting out the casein especially during this initial process simply to give your body time to adjust. No use harassing it with stuff that's hard to digest even if you might be able to. Best of luck!