This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Newbie With Lots Of Questions

Nanjee

Nanjee Rookie

Hi everyone. I am a "newbie" here - but have been lurking for awhile. I was a nurse for a lot of years - and recently have had my own needlework design and publishing company. I have had to give this up over the past 6-8 months - I don't have the stamina right now <_<

I was diagnosed 2 months ago with severe gluten intolerance through Entero Lab.

Also have the immune reaction to gliadin which results in an autoimmune reaction to the human enzyme tissue transglutaminase, and both of my parents have the gluten sensitive gene.

My bloodwork was questionable ( I heard yes and no, yes and no) - biopsy was negative.

I really believe this all began about 6-7 years ago - but I've had IBS since my early 20's - so docs thought that was what the problem was. The last 4-1/2 years have been constant/daily diarrhea - to the point of being so weak I thought for sure I was dying. Have lost 35 pounds over this period of time, and am still not really gaining. :(

I continue to be exhausted much of the time - not like my "old self" at all !!!

I have had Fibromyalgia for 20 years - but lived "well" with it - it really didn't get in my way that much.

My Vit D count was only a 5 - so I am trying my darndest to take D supplements. It seems anything new I introduce - my stomach and intestines take soooo long to adapt ;) Is this normal ??? Do others have problems with supplements as well ??? Also taking calcium, zinc, and the B's.