Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

AJoy

Hair Loss...?

I am new at this and have been seeing a lot about hair loss lately. Since I can remember I have been a profuse shedder - especially in the shower. I don't have bald spots or anything of the sort and unfortunately haven't ever noticed any thinning either. I always thought this to be somewhat normal for a girl with ultra thick long hair - is this in fact what people mean by hair loss in relation to celiac disease? I also had my thyroid checked when I was originally tested for Celiac about a month ago and it came back normal.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

I am new at this and have been seeing a lot about hair loss lately. Since I can remember I have been a profuse shedder - especially in the shower. I don't have bald spots or anything of the sort and unfortunately haven't ever noticed any thinning either. I always thought this to be somewhat normal for a girl with ultra thick long hair - is this in fact what people mean by hair loss in relation to celiac disease? I also had my thyroid checked when I was originally tested for Celiac about a month ago and it came back normal.

I have long hair (just past shoulders) and was losing handfuls of hair in the shower before I got my celiac diagnosis. I also have Hashimoto's Thyroiditis so it could be related to that, but the hair loss was one of my first problems to leave when I started the gluten free diet!

My hair stylist noticed this about my hair too a few months ago. I think over the past year I've just been slowly loosing hair whenever I wash it or comb or brush it, regardless of knots. Fortunately I have a ton of hair and nobody really notices it except for me and my hair lady. I'm just assuming it was from malnutrition and I'm hoping that soon it will go away.

Gluten Free since 11/2010

Dairy Free since 01/2011