Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
11475

Your Opinion On If This Is Safe Please!

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I may be overreacting - hence asking for some expert opinion on here, but please could you tell me if YOU would think this is safe:-

I've been given a trial of a product which is supposed to be beneficial for Leaky Gut. Honestly, I'm not convinced, and like almost all of us, I'd rather play it safe than suffer the consequences.

The ingredients in question include 'Organic Barley grass' and 'Organic Wheat grass'

It does say on the packet and on the website that it is gluten free, and offers the following explanation:-

"Even though Motion Potion contains Organic Wheat and Barley grass it remains gluten free. Gluten exists only in the grains not in the grass of these plants."

Please could you tell me what you would do? Try it, or not risk it. I'm inclined towards, 'not risking it'..but am not certain yet.

Thanks in advance.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

do u have the receipt? can u return it? i personally would not partake in it.

i used to actually take a product called Kyogreen. it also said "gluten free", and had barley & wheat grass.. i used to mix it in my pineapple juice- it was DELISH- it always kind of gave me a little intestinal suspicious behavior- but it could have been the F.O.S. in it (i have fructose issues)...

so, idk honestly. but i dont chance it in anymore- i abstain from barley & wheat grass.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To clarify:- I would imagine the potential risk of cc would be quite high, and that would be enough to convince me not to take the supplement.

I know it is believed that with the gluten grains, if they are processed enough it is then safe to eat (that's not very eloquently written, sorry), but I've had a reaction to some products fitting this category some time ago (without it having been additional intolerances that caused the reaction), which probably explains the extra paranoia.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

do u have the receipt? can u return it? i personally would not partake in it.

i used to actually take a product called Kyogreen. it also said "gluten free", and had barley & wheat grass.. i used to mix it in my pineapple juice- it was DELISH- it always kind of gave me a little intestinal suspicious behavior- but it could have been the F.O.S. in it (i have fructose issues)...

so, idk honestly. but i dont chance it in anymore- i abstain from barley & wheat grass.

Sorry - I didn't see your post there before I made a second post!

It was free - I definitely wouldn't have bought it myself. A family member sent it to me after seeing 'gluten free'. Thanks for your reply...I agree, I think it would probably be safest not to take it, but wanted a second opinion.

(On a slightly unrelated note - I was thinking of you yesterday, actually! I've read some of your posts about your FM issues..I ate a pear for the first time in years yesterday morning...definitely not a fun morning after that!)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They claim they are gluten free but according to research I did you don't know the maturation rate of the grass. It could be close to wheat and therefore contain a miniscule amount of gluten which companies don't count. For instance, Rice Dream is filtered using barley and then they remove it and leave 0.02% gluten. I don't know about you but I want my products gluten free and that isn't what that is. Also, look at the vitamin K content on the package. It is so high I think one could throw a clot. I got horrific headaches when I drank it for a week.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They claim they are gluten free but according to research I did you don't know the maturation rate of the grass. It could be close to wheat and therefore contain a miniscule amount of gluten which companies don't count. For instance, Rice Dream is filtered using barley and then they remove it and leave 0.02% gluten. I don't know about you but I want my products gluten free and that isn't what that is. Also, look at the vitamin K content on the package. It is so high I think one could throw a clot. I got horrific headaches when I drank it for a week.

Thanks so much for your reply! Your first two sentences are enough to convince me. I don't want ANY gluten getting in (ideally, ever), but particularly not while I'm still trying to heal, and I guess maybe the potentially tiny amounts might be enough that I don't feel any obvious effects, even though they might be damaging (haven't worked out my sensitivity level properly yet). Thanks again :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wouldn't touch it. I tried a product with wheat and barley grass once and had a severe enough reaction that I would never dream of trying them again.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wouldn't touch it. I tried a product with wheat and barley grass once and had a severe enough reaction that I would never dream of trying them again.

Thank you for your reply. I'm so sorry you had to learn the hard way, but I'm thankful that it helps me to avoid doing the same.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×