Rate this topic

Hi, everyone!

I'd appreciate any advice as I'm really new to this and have been reading a variety of sources. I have been having symptoms since last summer and they got progressively worse. In October, I started undergoing tests for all kinds of GI problems. Everything came up normal. But they never tested for celiac. My doctor tested for celiac via a bloodtest and I'll get the results on Monday. For the last week, I've been doing a gluten-free diet as my doctor said the blood test isn't always 100% reliable.

It's been a week, and I'm feeling a lot better! I'm not 100% better, but the stomach bloating is much better, naseau almost gone, etc. I was wondering though if the fact that I am still having some symptoms after a week could still be from the gluten I had in my system? Or if it were gluten, should I be feeling completely better by now?

Second main question is a lot of the gluten-free products I have found are corn based. Corn has always irritated my stomach some; when I have more than a little, I feel sick from that too. Are there many gluten-free products that aren't corn based? (For example, I had tortilla chips for lunch and corn based pasta for dinner and am feeling kind of queasy. But it's a different kind of queasy than when I've had gluten products. If that makes sense.)

Thanks!

Hi, everyone!

I'd appreciate any advice as I'm really new to this and have been reading a variety of sources. I have been having symptoms since last summer and they got progressively worse. In October, I started undergoing tests for all kinds of GI problems. Everything came up normal. But they never tested for celiac. My doctor tested for celiac via a bloodtest and I'll get the results on Monday. For the last week, I've been doing a gluten-free diet as my doctor said the blood test isn't always 100% reliable.