Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Dee777

The Gluten Was "fermented" Out Of The Sauce

Recommended Posts

Even though there is no strict law in place, you can report their mislabeling to the FDA. Voluntary gluten-free labeling rules specify that if there are wheat-derived ingredients the product must still be below 20ppm gluten.

http://www.fda.gov/Food/NewsEvents/ConstituentUpdates/ucm177323.htm

Here is where you call.

http://www.fda.gov/Safety/ReportaProblem/ConsumerComplaintCoordinators/default.htm

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And since it's a Canadian Company, it wouldn't hurt to report it to the Canadian Food Inspection Agency.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And since it's a Canadian Company, it wouldn't hurt to report it to the Canadian Food Inspection Agency.

Whoops! Thanks. Is my US-centric view showing too badly? :P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also didn't realize that we were talking about Canada. They are definitely offside if that is the case.

Here is the applicable Canadian regulation. It applies to food sold in Canada, but food sold outside Canada may not have to adhere to the rule.

Food and Drug Regulation B.24.018

No person shall label, package, sell or advertise a food in a manner likely to create an impression that it is gluten-free unless the food does not contain wheat, including spelt and kamut, or oats, barley, rye or triticale or any part thereof.

So, no matter what you do to "remove the gluten," by Canadian regulation if it contains anything derived from barley it can not be represented in any way as "gluten-free."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...