This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

How Does Everyone Else Deal With Work And Symptoms

Diana76

Diana76 Newbie

I'm a nurse and can't run to the bathroom every 5 mins. Some days are better than others but being dx in April I am still new to this. Sometimes the abd pain, nausea and fatigue makes it rough to get out of bed. The brain fog is better but I don't feel good all the time yet. Any suggestions of how to deal?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

ravenwoodglass Mentor

It can be really hard, and at times impossible to work with symptoms. Are you still having a lot of issues with D? If it is something that is frequent then you may be getting cross contaminated somewhere. Most of us benefit from dropping dairy for a bit when we first go gluten free. Many can add it back in after the intestines heal a bit. So if you haven't dropped dairy you may want to do so. Try to eat as much whole food as you can as that will cut down on the risk of CC and accidental glutening. If you haven't already do make sure to get a new dedicated toaster, new strainer and replace any scratched nonstick cookware and any wooden utensils and cutting boards.

As far as meds if I have to leave the house I will take Immodium but only as a last resort as I want everything out of my system asap. For stomach pain plain Pepto Bismal liquid seems to help a great deal. If you are not already taking some sublingual B12 you may want to get some. It will help a bit with the brain fog. I find Royal Jelly from bees to be helpful in giving me more energy.