Mary Lou 2

New Rice Allergy

Rate this topic

Hello everyone. I am new to this group. I have been doing pretty well avoiding my two allergens for the past three years- gluten which gives me typical celiac symptoms and soy and soy lecithin, which cause a more traditional allergic reaction. I've recently developed a rice allergy, which has me stumped. I have a couple of questions. Should I avoid all grains for a while so I don't develop another allergy? Should I include potatoes in this too-I keep reading that they should be avoided but don't know why. I'm sort of afraid of adding a new allergen to the list so I'm eating a diet of fruit, vegetables and meat, which is pretty hard on my digestive system -cramps, bloating,etc. Is this something that will go away in time? Any suggestions for making the transition away from grains? Finally, am I overreacting by cutting out all grains. Any advice you all have would be greatly appreciated.

I am one who develops new allergies to frequently eaten foods. Not everyone does. For me, I have started a 4 day rotation diet to avoid developing new allergies and manage my current ones. Google allergy rotation diet or the like.

I am all for not eliminating any more than you have to. Some people can eat the same day after day and be ok but I have learned after 2 years of my food allergy journey that I need as much variety as possible or I end up with new allergies. I learned that through allergy testing with a large panel of foods-over 80 and an elimination/challenge diet following that. That restored my system back to calm and taught me to recognize symptoms.

I am one who develops new allergies to frequently eaten foods. Not everyone does. For me, I have started a 4 day rotation diet to avoid developing new allergies and manage my current ones. Google allergy rotation diet or the like.