Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up
  • Scott Adams

    Is Ginger Beer Gluten-Free and Safe for People with Celiac Disease?

    Scott Adams
    0
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      Before you go mixing up that Moscow Mule, find out if ginger beer is gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease.


    Moscow Mule cocktail. Image: CC BY 2.0--Wine Dharma
    Caption: Moscow Mule cocktail. Image: CC BY 2.0--Wine Dharma

    Celiac.com 11/24/2020 - We get more than a few questions about beer. One question we see a lot is about ginger beer. Specifically, is ginger beer gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease? 

    Ginger beer is a popular cocktail mixer, and a key ingredient in the currently popular Moscow Mule cocktail. Perhaps because of the word 'beer' in the name, many people with celiac disease wonder if ginger beer gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease to consume.



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    The answer is that most all true ginger beer is naturally gluten-free. That said, there are plenty of imposters, so read labels and beware. True ginger beer made with sugar, ginger and water. That's it. So you can rest easy when you add vodka and lime juice for that Moscow Mule. 

    Oh, and more good news about that vodka. The FDA and the U.S. Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) have issued new rules that allow gluten-free labeling on all distilled spirits. That means Manufacturers of distilled foods and beverages can now label their products as gluten-free, even if made from gluten ingredients. You can enjoy that Moscow Mule with a clean conscience. As always, listen you your gut. If something doesn't seem to work for you, even if it's labeled gluten-free, then avoid it. 

    Click here for questions about gluten-removed, and gluten-free beers
     

    Edited by Scott Adams

    0

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    On 12/2/2020 at 7:53 AM, Guest Scotty said:

    In my opinion the best tasting non alcoholic ginger beer on the market is Bundaberg Ginger Beer and it is confirmed gluten free and safe for coeliac

     I haven’t tried Bundaberg but my favorite ginger beer of all time is Fever Tree. It has actual ginger and no high fructose corn syrup in it.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites


    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 10/14/2016 - It's almost October, and that means beer, or, at least it means Oktoberfest is near. And in so many ways, gluten-free beer lovers have never had it better, with dozens of selections now available commercially, and more on the way every month, it seems.
    So grab a beer, and celebrate Oktoberfest. But before we get to the list of beer purveyors, let's quickly review some basics of gluten-free versus gluten removed.
    Naturally Gluten-free Beers—Naturally gluten-free beers are made with all gluten-free source ingredients, and use grains like sorghum instead of barley. This is important to many people, especially those with high s...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 09/16/2019 - Here are some of the most common questions we get about gluten-free alcoholic beverages.
    Gluten-Free Distilled Alcohols
    Unless gluten is added after distillation, all distilled alcohols are free of gluten. However, under US labeling law, beverages made from ingredients containing wheat, rye, or barley, cannot be labeled or advertised as 'gluten-free.'So, when you do see a 'gluten-free' label on a distilled beverage, it means that no gluten ingredients have been used at any point in the production process. You'll find an extensive list of gluten-free alcohol, booze and liquor here.
    Gluten Sensitivity Can Vary ...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 08/19/2020 - The US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has ruled that distilled foods and spirits made from gluten-containing grains can be labelled as ‘gluten-free.’ The FDA ruling covers fermented and distilled foods, or foods that contain fermented or distilled ingredients, which are made using gluten-containing grains such as rye, barley and wheat. The ruling changes the previous FDA requirement that distilled products labeled "gluten-free" must contain no gluten ingredients from start to finish.
    The change was hailed by Chris Swonger, president and CEO of the the Distilled Spirits Council of the United States (Discus), who said: “W...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 10/26/2020 - The U.S. Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) has announced a new policy that permits any distilled spirits made from gluten-containing grains to be labeled as "gluten-free." The move follows a ruling by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in July that permits any distilled foods made from gluten-containing grains to be labelled "gluten-free." Previously, both rules permitted gluten-free labeling only on distilled spirits made from non-gluten ingredients, such as grapes, corn or potatoes.
    Following the FDA rule change, the Distilled Spirits Council of the US (Discus), an alcohol industry trade group, urged...