Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter
  • Join Our Community!

    Ask us a question in our celiac / gluten-free forum.

  • Scott Adams

    Is Peanut Butter Gluten-Free and Safe for People with Celiac Disease?

    Scott Adams
    0
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      Most peanut butter is naturally gluten-free, but not all peanut butter is labeled gluten-free. Here's what you need to know.


    Image: CC BY 2.0-- JeepersMedia
    Caption: Image: CC BY 2.0-- JeepersMedia

    Celiac.com 10/14/2020 - We get more than a few question about peanut butter. Specifically, is peanut butter gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease?

    Peanuts are gluten-free, and with very few exceptions, most peanut butter is gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. Most peanut butter contains nothing more than peanuts, oil, sweetner, and salt. That makes peanut butter gluten-free in its natural form. The same answer applies to commercial peanut butter. Plain, or chunky peanut butter is usually gluten-free. However, if any gluten is added afterward, then peanut butter will not be gluten-free. Certain added ingredients could mean hidden gluten.



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    Most commercial peanut butter brands include sugar, while others include vegetable monoglycerides to prevent separation. Mostly, it's a matter of labeling. What people often really want to know it whether peanut butter not labeled gluten-free is safe.

    Many Peanut Butter Brands are Labeled Gluten-Free

    There are a number of manufacturers that label their peanut butter gluten-free. That means that they are having their products tested and in some cases even certified gluten-free. Obviously, peanut butter labeled gluten-free is the safest choice. But many peanut butters simply state that their products contain no gluten ingredients. These are likely okay. We get very few complaints about peanut butter. It's usually well tolerated by people with celiac disease who don't have a peanut allergy.  

    Beware of Gluten in Peanut Butter Products

    Unless wheat or gluten ingredients are added, peanut butter is always gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. However, a number of products package peanut butter with things like pretzels, that may not be gluten-free, so read packages carefully.

    Basically, any product containing pretzels, cookies, crackers, or the like should be examined carefully. Read labels and watch out for hidden gluten.

    If you're not sure about ingredients, check our Safe and Forbidden lists.

    Is Commercial peanut butter Gluten-Free?

    What about commercial peanut butter you buy in the store? Some commercial peanut butters are now labeled gluten-free.

    Most commercial peanut butters label any allergens, including wheat. In the USA, any wheat must be declared on the allergen warning. As always, please read labels carefully. When in doubt, check the manufacturer's website.

    Here's a List of Top Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Brands

    Edited by Scott Adams

    0

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.



    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 09/26/2020 - How do you figure out which Halloween candy is gluten-free and safe for you and your loved ones? You check out the Celiac.com’s Safe Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list, of course!
    Here's our best, most comprehensive, most up-to-date list of safe, gluten-free Halloween candy, along with a list of unsafe candy that contains gluten and should be avoided.
    This year, we’ve added candies to both the SAFE Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list, and to our UNSAFE Non-Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list. We’ve also added more manufacturer contact information for easier answers to gluten-free questions.
    Celiac.com strives to mak...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 06/23/2020 - If you have celiac disease, or are gluten-free for other medical reasons, getting a good gluten-free ice cream bar, ice cream sandwich or ice cream cone can be a struggle. Every summer, we get questions like this one: Are Klondike Bars gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease? In fact, we get a lot of questions about ice cream, and specifically about which ice cream bars, sandwiches and cones are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. Just in time for summer, here are five top gluten-free ice cream bars, sandwiches and cones that are widely available at stores near you.
    Dove
    All Dove ice...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 06/24/2020 - For people with celiac disease, and those who are gluten-free for other medical reasons, it can be a battle to get a good, reliable brand and flavor of gluten-free ice cream. True, most ice cream is made without gluten ingredients and may be gluten-safe, even if not labeled "Gluten-Free." However, the trouble starts with added ingredients, especially cookies, or cookie dough, among others. Be especially careful of any cookies or cookie dough ingredients.
    Just in time for summer, here are more than a hundred top gluten-free ice cream brands and flavors that are widely available at stores near you. Do you have a favorite ice ...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 10/13/2020 - Peanuts are naturally gluten-free, and so are most peanut butter brands, unless they've got added gluten ingredients. However, many brands do not label their peanut butter as gluten-free, and many unlabeled peanut butters may be made on equipment that processes wheat, rye or barley. That's not necessarily a big deal, but some people like to play it safe. 
    These brands go the extra mile to make sure their peanut butters are labeled "Gluten-Free." That means that you can breath extra easy about serving them to people with celiac disease.
    Top Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Brands (Ingredient Label Includes "Gluten-Free")...