Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

A.J.Black

duodenal bulb biopsies results??

Rate this topic

I have had several blood tests and a stool test that all came  back negative for Celiac's.  Then  the test results came back from all the biopsies taken. Other than Barrett's Syndrome it also says. Changes in the duodenal mucosa suggest gluten sensitive enteropathy, in the proper clinical setting. ( Villi are short and thick, decreased mucin production by surface epithelium and increased intraepithelial lymphocytes. There is crypt hyperplasia. )

Can  I consider this a positive diagnosis now? I have been avoiding gluten for a couple of months and sometimes it helps sometimes it doesn't. If so after upcoming surgery I plan on going strictly gluten free.

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Were you avoiding gluten when you had the celiac blood panel?  In order for those tests to be accurrate, you must consume gluten daily (1-2 slices of bread) for 8 to 12 weeks.  Exactly what tests were taken?  Many doctors do not offer then full screening.  These include:

-Tissue Transglutaminase (tTG) IgA and (tTG) IgG
-Deamidated Gliadin Peptide (DGP) IgA and (DGP) IgG
-EMA IgA 
-total serum IgA and IgG (control test)
-AGA IGA and AGA IgG - older and less reliable tests largely replace by the DGP tests

-endoscopic biopsy - make sure at least 6 samples are taken

VERY IMPORTANT:  Keep eating gluten daily until ALL testing is complete or the tests can be inaccurate.  

(Source: NVSMOM -- ?)

Welcome to the forum!

The results from your biopsy might actually have been showing improvement!  What does your doctor say?  

Non-functioning Gall bladder Removal Surgery 2005

Diagnosed via Blood Test and Endoscopy: March 2013

Hashimoto's Thyroiditis -- Stable 2014

Anemia -- Resolved

Fractures (vertebrae): June 2013

Osteopenia/osteoporosis -- June 2013

Allergies and Food Intolerances

Diabetes -- January 2014