This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Awaiting Biopsy

Zhamay

Zhamay Newbie

Hello everybody, this is my first time posting here. I am 38 years old, from Australia, and received the news about 6 weeks ago that I have coeliac. I had been feeling very tired and had been having severe headaches for quite some time but I didn't see anybody about it until 2 months ago when it got so severe I needed to take a week off work. My GP tested my iron which was non detectable which led to her testing me for coeliac. My blood results came back as a very strong positive. At the moment, I am awaiting biopsy. I have been listed as urgent <30 days but where I am that doesn't necessarily mean I will be seen to that quickly. Currently I have reduced my gluten intake to some toast in the morning and usually just a biscuit or a few small gluteny things during the day. I hate that I have to keep eating it until biopsy. It makes me feel tired and sick and bloated. I had an iron infusion 6 days ago, after 6 weeks of oral iron supplements. The doctor said I should start feeling better within a few days. But I don't. I need to go to bed soon after I get home from work, then even after all that sleep I am still tired. Today I woke up with a terrible headache that is just getting worse. Can anyone suggest how I should best manage my symptoms while I await my biopsy?

Thank you.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

GFinDC Veteran

Hi Zhamay,

Welcome to the forum! :)