Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts

There have been questions on other posts about charcoal. Someone mentioned some types were not gluten-free. I never thought of this! Which ones are okay?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Natural charcoal is always OK. Briquettes almost without exception have wheat starch (and a bunch of other stuff). "Real" charcoal is better.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you. That explains my upset stomach yesterday!! Fortunately, it was very minor, just a little upset in the morning and a little tired all day.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And speaking of charcoal. I've found that I have gluten reactions to water that has been filtered through "charcoal filters"!!!! I use only spring water or I purify my own with ceramic filters. Anyone else ever have problems?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wonder what activated charcoal is made from? It's probably some kind of wood, I'd guess. I take it occasionally when I may have gotten some nightshade (peppers, tomatoes, eggplant, potatoes) in my food that I ordered, etc, and didn't realize before I ate some.

I highly recommend mesquite real wood charcoal for the BBQ - not only is it gluten free, but the food tastes AWESOME!

Stephanie

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We too, alway use the real stuff...burnt wood chips. You can't have a better steak, smoked salmon on a cedar board, or pork loin on the grill. Life dosen't get any better that this. :D Lisa

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...