This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Big Mistake

Canadiangirl

Canadiangirl Apprentice

Hi there,

I am new to any kind of post board, but I am looking for some feedback. I have been living with Celiac for 4 years now, and proir to that was sick all the time. I have been strictly gluten free for about 3 years with the occasional mishap with suace on a meal or an unknown source. Yesterday I at breakfast with my family, my lovely dad made me gluten free pancakes and the rest of my family regular wheat pancakes. There was some confusion and even though I triple checked, I ate 3 wheat pancakes:( I discpvered teh mistale about 5 minutes after eating them... this was horrifying as I get very ill form even a tiny amount. I immediatly tried to make self vomit but after 30 minutes I gave up and went to the hospital hoping that I could get some sort of vomit inducer. But by this time I am sure the gluten was already digestingand we waited for 4 hours and then left as the wait was going to be a few more hours ( ah, the wonderful medical system of canada). So far I have had a nasty head ache since yesterday when I ate and feel like I have been run over by a large vehicle. I also have a fever. I am wondering if anyone has any suggestions. What the heck can I do to bring up a mistaken gluten source, is this even an option? What whould I expect over th enext while as a reslt of this mistake? I assuming i will be ill for the next few weeks...the normal cycle or head aches, then IBS type symptoms....I am worried about the damage I have done:( Its Christmas so my doctor and natuaropath are on holiday:(