This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Soaps, Lotions, Shampoos Oh My, Please Help

thumper

thumper Apprentice

I am very new to celiac disease and I was told that it could be very helpful to use gluten free body soaps, lotions, shampoo, conditioner, etc.... So off to the store I went thinking well this sounds easy enough.

Wow was I wrong !! I started reading labels on all the health and beauty items and realized how stupid I am and that I would need a degree in Chemistry to have a clue.

I came home with nothing but alittle bit of hope left thinking "hey the internet should be able to help" so I did so many searches using all sorts of different words and now I know nothing.

I thought the food changes where tough but this seems impossible.

Can someone please help me out on this ??

Thumper :unsure:

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Ursa Major Collaborator

You might just want to start out with Dove products until you did some more research. Personally, I love Dove products, but the reason for that is, that all of the nice natural products in the health food store are very high in salicylates and and make me sick, too.

Health food stores have a ton of really nice, natural products. You just have to make sure none of them have wheat germ oil, barley extract or oat bran (all very commonly used in personal care products).

Krysten Newbie