Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Mary B

Confused About Soy

:( I was just diagnosed with celiac last week, and frankly, I was very surprised. I truly thought I had IBS, went in to see the doctor, and the bloodwork for celiac came back positive. I had the endoscopy two weeks ago, and the rest is history. I went to see a nutritionist today - a very nice young girl, but I honestly knew as much as she did about celiac. I thought I would come home with recipes and ideas about what products out there taste better. Since I'm a teacher, I am going to take the summer to learn some new recipes - especially for "cream of..." soups so my family can have casseroles again.

Anyway, what's the deal with soy? From what I understand (I think) say sauce is off limits - due to the thickening agent used. However, soy is okay. Is that the case??? Any and all help will be appreciated. Also, I LOVE soy sauce. I use in on my oriental dishes and as a marinade. Is there gluten-free soy sauce out there? That sure would help out a lot.

Again, I'm very new to this and I appreciate your replies.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

:( I was just diagnosed with celiac last week, and frankly, I was very surprised. I truly thought I had IBS, went in to see the doctor, and the bloodwork for celiac came back positive. I had the endoscopy two weeks ago, and the rest is history. I went to see a nutritionist today - a very nice young girl, but I honestly knew as much as she did about celiac. I thought I would come home with recipes and ideas about what products out there taste better. Since I'm a teacher, I am going to take the summer to learn some new recipes - especially for "cream of..." soups so my family can have casseroles again.