Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

imbleu

Working Around Gluten

Hi all,

I wanted to get some feedback on an issue I'm having. I currently work as a waitress in a restaurant where we use a lot of pita bread. Consequently, I'm always handling it -- serving it, cutting it, ripping it, folding it up, etc. It's a little gross, but mostly I ignore it and keep working. I always bring my own food if I have to eat on a shift because I know how contaminated our kitchen is.

Anyway, a couple of times now, I've had a gluten reaction that I can't link to any food I've eaten, or medicine I've taken, or anything else I can fathom except my workplace. Is it possible that I'm getting cc'ed at work?! I try to always remember to wash my hands before eating or drinking there and I don't consciously rub my lips or anything like that.

I appreciate any insight! I can't tell whether I'm being paranoid or cautious. I love the work environment at this job and would hate to leave, but if I have to, I have to. My only thought right now is to take a break and see whether I feel better while I'm away. I get pain when glutened, but it seems like I've never quite gotten ahead of it even on a very strict diet. By now I'm wondering whether it's my workplace or some completely unrelated, non-food-dependent disorder!

Thanks all!