This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Newbie Here - Negative Blood Work

Colinsmom

Colinsmom Newbie

Hello to all! First of all I want to say that this is a really great board with lots of excellent info! I just got my blood work back and it was negative with very low numbers. I had really thought I was on to something and now I am disappointed that I don't have an answer. I just don't think I have the willpower to try the gluten-free diet and stick to it without a definitive diagnosis. One question did come to mind when I thought about what might alter my test results. I take Plaquenil 400 mg. and Prednisone 5 mg. every day. Would this have a bearing on the results? I take these meds for Lupus and Sjogren's Syndrome and I also have Hashimoto's Thyroiditis and an everpresent itchy rash (which was biopsied previously and negative for DH). My symptoms are as follows: chronic constipation, severe bloating and abdominal distention, frequent gas, fatigue, gum disease, osteopenia, GERD and post-nasal drip. I have had these symptoms for a while, but they got a lot worse after the birth of my son 2 years ago. If anyone has any insights for me, all comments would be appreciated. Thanks for reading my story!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

ShayFL Enthusiast

What did they test?? Did they only do IgA antibodies?? Did they test your total IgA to see if you are deficient (therefore making the IgA tests invalid). Did they test IgG??

Have you had genetic testing for Celiac?

Biopsy?