This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Movie Theatre Food? Popcorn? Safe?

disneymom62

disneymom62 Newbie

OK, so I'm very new at this... VERY new. I have word from my GI doc after blood test and biopsies that I have Celiac disease. I'm learning what I can't eat, and what I can eat. I am going to the movies with a friend of mine tonight, and don't know if I can eat my customary popcorn, or if I need to pack some gluten-free snack. Will there be anything there I can eat? Help?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

celiac-mommy Collaborator
OK, so I'm very new at this... VERY new. I have word from my GI doc after blood test and biopsies that I have Celiac disease. I'm learning what I can't eat, and what I can eat. I am going to the movies with a friend of mine tonight, and don't know if I can eat my customary popcorn, or if I need to pack some gluten-free snack. Will there be anything there I can eat? Help?

I never go for the popcorn because I don't know what's in their flavors they add to it. Occasionally I will let the kids get M&M's or Kissables, but usually I sneak (Yeah, I'm horrible :rolleyes: ) a snack bag in for each kid and justify it by buying them a drink.

Amyleigh0007 Enthusiast

I always bring my own popcorn and then purchase soda at the theater. I pop a bag of popcorn at home (a brand we know is safe) and then put it in a ziplock bag. No one has ever stopped me before. I am certain that we aren't the only mom's who do this ;)

teemaree Apprentice

Hi,

Although I am in australia and the flavouring and oil maybe a little different there in the USA....