Jump to content
  • Sign Up
1 1
JipThePeople

Starbucks Vanilla Bean Frapacchino

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

The Starbucks web site is worthless for those of us w/ celiac. Is the Starbucks Vanilla Bean Frapacchino gluten-free? Any web sites that confirm this? It is one of my favorites, but I fear it contains gluten. Please advise. I am new to all this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Your gut is right. This one contains gluten as does the one with the chips in it. I did ask about the strawberry one, if it was modified from the vanilla bean and it is NOT. They each have their own mixure. So just avoid the vanilla bean and the one with the chips. :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thx for the response. I figured from the rumblings in my stomach after drinking one that it would be gluten-filled. Oh, well at least I can still eat Blue Bell vanilla ice cream.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Woot! There's always something else out there that can replace something that we can't eat. Positive thinking is a great thing to have!

Also, regarding startbucks your right the website sucks for allergen information. I always ask at my local starbucks and they let me read the labels to check for myself. So they are trying at least. :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you call Starbucks corporation they are knowledgeable. Don't quote me on this, as I have not talked to them in a while, but they do not consider the vanilla frap to be gluten free because the vanilla powder may be cross contaminated with gluten. This is also true for the vanilla powder in the shaker that you can add to your coffee. Also the malt frap chips contain barley, but many Starbucks don't use them anymore.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To my knowledge the caramel and mocha fraps are safe. I would ask to read the labels on the mixes. Or call them. :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
To my knowledge the caramel and mocha fraps are safe. I would ask to read the labels on the mixes. Or call them. :D

What about cross contamination from using the same blender for the gluten-rich frapuchinos?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
What about cross contamination from using the same blender for the gluten-rich frapuchinos?

I politely tell them I have food allergies to some of their products and ask if they wouldn't mind making my drink in a clean, sanitized vessel. They are always happy to oblige. Put 50 cents in their tip cup.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The answer I got the last time I called Starbucks was that we should not trust anything that has the "chips" in it. If you have them make the drinks with the liquid flavorings they should be fine but avoid the powdered or chip flavorings.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I tried to get the barista to rinse the spoon today before removing foam from my soy latte and it was as if I asked for all the money in the til. It kind of upsets me, as they have running water literally right beside the espresso machine, so it would have just taken a second or two....in the end she didn't do it. I'm trying to maintain some form of normalcy since getting my results six days ago and starbucks was supposed to be one of those things I could maintain. Oh well...guess I'll be saving five bucks a day.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 6/18/2009 at 11:27 AM, Salax said:

To my knowledge the caramel and mocha fraps are safe. I would ask to read the labels on the mixes. Or call them. :D

According to Starbucks workers, anything with caramel is NOT gluten free. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
1 1

×