virginiabeach

Karate

Rate this topic

I spend about 9 hours a week in the dojo... I shied away from running because I am 54 and know that I did have mild osteoporosis 2 years ago when I had bone density test. This is one of "our" problems. I take calcium with OJ for that. I'm not near as worried about the kicks & bumps in the dojo as I am about the mis-step on the trail.

Just got a blue stripe on my green belt Friday -- I've been doing this less than a year, started when I realized how much damage I had after putting up with an inconsiderate (process of divorce) husband for 15 years after I knew what the problem was. It's hard to explain, but the mental part of the training really helps cut through the fog.

Congratulations on you blue stripe on your green belt! I am glad it is working well for you and it will help keep your body in shape for sure.

Congrats - that's awesome! I've been studying karate for over 16 years - 11 in my current school - and I just got my brown belt last week, in fact! I also can't run (makes my knees hurt, plus a few years ago I developed plantar fasciitis and can't handle that level of impact without my foot hurting), but karate works really well for me physically. And the mental/spiritual aspect has completely transformed my life; at this point I'm not sure who I'd be without it.

Keep up the training - it only gets better! :)

Jeanne

Congrats on the brown belt. And yes to the mental/spirituality aspects. Our diet is a good bit more rigid than those imposed by various religious sects, and anything that re-enforces discipline is good for us I think.