Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
Lisa

ConAgra Foods

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Below is a current statement regarding ConAgra Foods labeling policy, as discussed on a recent thread. Please note the bolded (by me).

March 19, 2010

Dear Mrs.___________,

Thank you for your questions. I would like to share some information that will be helpful for you in determining whether any of our ConAgra Foods products contains gluten.

Since Wheat is one of our top allergens, if it is used in the product, it would be listed in the Contains statement following the ingredients list. The flour used in many of our products is wheat flour and you should avoid these products if you have gluten sensitivities.

If any ingredient in the product includes rye, barley or oats, it will be listed in parentheses immediately following the ingredient. This also holds true for Natural Flavors, Artificial Flavors or Spices - wheat, oat, barley or rye would be called out following these items in the ingredient list.

Some fermented or distilled products such as vinegar may be derived from wheat. We suggest that you speak to your physician to determine if you need to avoid distilled products derived from wheat, rye, barley, or oats, as there are differing opinions between experts. You should avoid malted vinegar if you have gluten sensitivities.

We always advise consumers who may have sensitivities to recheck the ingredient list on the package each time you purchase it. Products are often reformulated and the ingredients may change.

ConAgra Foods currently does not make "gluten-free" claims on any of our products, because federal regulations defining "gluten-free" have not been established. We believe that clearly labeling the presence of allergens in the Contains statement and the ingredient list provides you with the most accurate information on whether a product contains gluten.

Thank you for taking the time to contact us.

Sincerely,

Jacquelyn

Consumer Affairs

Ref: 052828584A

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for posting --

Below is a current statement regarding ConAgra Foods labeling policy, as discussed on a recent thread. Please note the bolded (by me).

March 19, 2010

Dear Mrs.___________,

Thank you for your questions. I would like to share some information that will be helpful for you in determining whether any of our ConAgra Foods products contains gluten.

Since Wheat is one of our top allergens, if it is used in the product, it would be listed in the Contains statement following the ingredients list. The flour used in many of our products is wheat flour and you should avoid these products if you have gluten sensitivities.

If any ingredient in the product includes rye, barley or oats, it will be listed in parentheses immediately following the ingredient. This also holds true for Natural Flavors, Artificial Flavors or Spices - wheat, oat, barley or rye would be called out following these items in the ingredient list.

Some fermented or distilled products such as vinegar may be derived from wheat. We suggest that you speak to your physician to determine if you need to avoid distilled products derived from wheat, rye, barley, or oats, as there are differing opinions between experts. You should avoid malted vinegar if you have gluten sensitivities.

We always advise consumers who may have sensitivities to recheck the ingredient list on the package each time you purchase it. Products are often reformulated and the ingredients may change.

ConAgra Foods currently does not make "gluten-free" claims on any of our products, because federal regulations defining "gluten-free" have not been established. We believe that clearly labeling the presence of allergens in the Contains statement and the ingredient list provides you with the most accurate information on whether a product contains gluten.

Thank you for taking the time to contact us.

Sincerely,

Jacquelyn

Consumer Affairs

Ref: 052828584A

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for posting this. Of vital importance to me was this part:

"Some fermented or distilled products such as vinegar may be derived from wheat. We suggest that you speak to your physician to determine if you need to avoid distilled products derived from wheat, rye, barley, or oats, as there are differing opinions between experts."

I now know to watch out for those products.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for posting this. Of vital importance to me was this part:

"Some fermented or distilled products such as vinegar may be derived from wheat. We suggest that you speak to your physician to determine if you need to avoid distilled products derived from wheat, rye, barley, or oats, as there are differing opinions between experts."

I now know to watch out for those products.

You are welcome. :)

By law, in the US, if vinegar is derived from wheat, it must be listed on the ingredient list, regardless of it being distilled.

It has been discussed many times here, with research referenced, that MOST people with Celiac will not react to distilled products.

But some, as Raven pointed out, are super sensitive. Having Celiac is not always a black and white issue. We are all different.

....but that might be a different subject.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As Lisa says, ravenwoodglass (and everybody else), if vinegar is derived from wheat (which ALMOST never happens in the U.S.) the wheat still must be listed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×